In Person Concealed Carry Classes and Online Class
Concealed Carry Training Class & Concealed Carry Permit Renewal – Chicago, Illinois and Online Security Training
If you are concerned about safety, you can protect yourself by carrying a concealed firearm. A Concealed Carry License (CCL) is required in many states to carry guns and the process for issuing the permit varies. Here in Illinois, you must successfully complete a safety course, or Concealed Carry Classes, before you can receive a CCL. The Illinois Concealed Carry permit is good for 5 years, and additional classes are required to renew it.
AGB Security is a certified and experienced provider of Concealed Carry Class in Illinois. Online classes are available for those outside of Illinois.
Our classes are taught in Chicago by NRA-trained instructors at the AGB Institute. Our Concealed Carry Classes curriculum covers all the tactical and legal information required by Il state law. The firearm class requirements for Illinois’ concealed carry class are some of the toughest in the US, and generally cover the class requirement for all states. An additional in-person skills class training hours for physical firearms experience is required in addition to the online or in class hours portion of the classes in order to qualify for the state’s concealed carry permit. This class portion is not available online and is not transferrable by state.
Class Schedule and Concealed Carry Fees
AGB’s Concealed Carry skills course is 16 hour long and is usually taught over a weekend, with a full day of class on Saturday and Sunday. (Weekday and evening classes are available upon request.) The class fee is $150.00 per student and it includes hours at a gun range. Concealed Carry Classes are limited to 30 students and fill up quickly, so early registration is recommended.
Before You Register For Classes
To take our Concealed Carry Classes, you must meet the following requirements:
- Be at least 21 years old.
- Possess a valid Firearm Owner Identification Card (FOID) and bring it to first day of class.
- Possess a valid State ID, Driver’s License, or Resident Alien Card and bring it to first day of class.
- NOT be prohibited by state or federal law from legally possessing a firearm.
- Be physically capable of safely and effectively operating a firearm.
- Own a handgun and a compatible concealment holster.
- Do NOT bring your firearm with live ammunition to class!
Fingerprinting for Illinois Concealed Carry (After Completion of Classes)
Fingerprinting is recommended for an Illinois Concealed Carry Weapon (CCW) Permit. AGB is a State of Illinois licensed fingerprint vendor and will conduct fingerprinting, on site, on the last day of class. Students must present a valid Firearm Owner Identification Card and a valid State ID Card or Driver’s License. Fingerprinting service is an additional $60.00 and not included in the Concealed Carry Classes Fee.
Concealed Carry Training Class Information
Our course follows Illinois’ Initial Firearms Curriculum, and the syllabus will cover these topics in detail:
- Use of Force
- Handgun Safety
- Pistol Nomenclature
- Cleaning and Maintenance
- Nomenclature of Ammunition
- Loading & Unloading
- Shooting Fundamentals
- Isometric Tension
- Breathing Techniques
- Sight Alignment/Picture
- Trigger Control
- Dry Firing Practice
Upon successful completion of the class, paperwork will be submitted for students to receive their Illinois Concealed Carry Weapon (CCW) Permit, which lasts for five years. Students may visit the Illinois State Police Firearms Services Bureau to learn more about the CCW permit process and to check the status of an application.
Concealed Carry Guidelines for Classes
Students are expected to follow the trainer’s directions throughout the Concealed Carry Classes. Any student who fails to follow the instructions or engages in unsafe behavior will be removed, and no refund will be issued.
Students will need to provide their own transportation to and from the gun range on that day of the course. They also should wear a baseball cap or another hat with a bill at the range. Eye and ear protection will be provided for students who do not have their own.
Concealed Carry Range Guidelines
Instructors will inspect all firearms used in the course for proper function and maintenance. No student will be allowed to operate any firearm deemed unsafe by an instructor, range officer or armorer.
Illinois Concealed Carry Reciprocity
If you have an Illinois Concealed Carry permit, you can legally wear your concealed firearm in the states shown in blue.